GED TEST - Georgia High School Equivalency Diploma

If you had a GED diploma, it could make a world of difference in your life; a promotion, a better job, more money, and a higher standard of living to name a few. Even a $500 HOPE voucher to continue your education.

If you think getting your GED is hard, you're wrong. If you need help, there are free classes to help you prepare for the GED tests at your local Adult Learning Center. There are even classes by television. If is a very big word. GED is bigger.

General Educational Development Diploma (GED) Guidelines
The GED testing program is jointly administered by the GED Testing Service (GEDTS) of the American Council on Education and by the Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education Office of Adult Literacy. The GED battery of tests is developed by GEDTS and the same tests are given in all fifty states.
The GED test provides adults at least 16 years of age who are beyond the age of compulsory high school attendance under state law with an opportunity to earn a high school equivalency diploma. In order to pass the GED test, a student must pass a series of five tests in writing skills, social studies, science, interpreting literature and arts, and mathematics. Successfully passing these sections demonstrates that the student has acquired a level of learning that is comparable to that of high school graduates. The GEDTS has set a national standard for the minimum score an examinee can receive in order to pass the GED. GED diplomas are issued according to the following guidelines:

Who is eligible to take the GED tests?
The GED tests can be administered only to persons who:

  • have not graduated from an accredited high school or received a high school equivalency certificate or diploma;

    are not currently enrolled in a regular high school;

  • are at least 16 years of age.*

* Applicants must receive special needs approval.
Contact the local GED Testing Center for more information.

How do I apply to take THE GED tests?
You may complete an official application form, as prescribed by the Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education Office of Adult Literacy at your local GED Testing Center.

Residency: You do not need to be a resident of Georgia to be eligible to take the GED tests. You must, however, be a resident of Georgia to receive the $500 HOPE voucher.

Identification: When you take the GED tests, official photo identification is required for admission.

What is the new scoring system?
Tests will now be scored from 200 to 800 points
A minimum standard score of 410 is necessary to pass each individual exam, and an average standard score of 450 is required to pass the full battery.

What are the new requirements for retesting?
If the average standard score is 430 or better, the applicant may retake the test at any time, but remedial study is recommended.
If the average standard score is 400-429, a wait of three months or evidence of remedial study is necessary before retesting. If the applicant's average standard score falls below 400, a wait of six months, or evidence of remedial study is necessary before retesting. If you retest at a center other than your original testing site, you must obtain a release from the original Chief Examiner.

What fees will I be charged?
You will be charged a standard fee for taking the GED tests. Other fees are charged for retests.
The original GED Diploma and a copy of the test scores will be provided to successful examinees by the Department of Technical and Adult Education Office of Adult Literacy. However, a fee will be charged for a duplicate or replacement GED Diploma or duplicate copies of test scores. Contact your local GED Testing Center for fees and schedules.

Full Battery of Five Tests
$19 per test
$5 each
Duplicate Diplomas
$8 each

What are GED tests like?
Five separate tests make up the GED battery of tests. Test questions range in difficulty from easy to hard, and cover a wide range of subjects. All the questions on four of the parts are multiple choice with five possible answers given. Part II of the Writing Skills Tests does require you to write an essay.
The content of these tests are as follows: Writing Skills, Part I (50 questions, 75 minutes)

  • 15% Organization
    30% Sentence Structure
    30% Usage 25% Mechanics

    Writing Skills, Part II (45 minutes)


    Social Studies (50 questions, 70 minutes)

    15% History
    30% Geography
    30% Civics and Government
    25% Economics

    Science (50 questions, 80 minutes)

    45% Life Science
    20% Earth and Space Science
    35% Physical Sciences

    Language Arts, Reading (40 questions, 60 minutes)

    20% Comprehension
    15% Application
    30-35% Analysis
  • 30-35% Synthesis

    Mathematics (50 questions, 90 minutes)

    ProceduralConceptual Applications/Modeling/
    Problem Solving
    Number Operations Each content area will account for 20% to 30% of the entire test; approximately 20% will be in the Procedural domain, approximately 30% will be in the Conceptual domain, and 50% will be in the Applications/ Modeling/Problem Solving domain
    Data Analysis/Statistics